Qualifying Training CoursesNATIONAL VOCATIONAL QUALIFICATION Jewellery MakingStone setting

This one year training will allow students to master a range of stone setting techniques and prepare them for the National Diploma “CAP Art et Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie”, in Stone Setting.

The stone setter receives from the jeweller the pieces to be set.The setting of the gemstones must ensure proper reflection of light.The gemstones will be fit into the type of setting chosen by the jeweller (grain, prong or bezel setting).The stone setter determines the exact location for the stones based on their size, shape and colour while mounting and encasing them into the prepared seats. Under a binocular microscope, the stone setter will raise the grains or bend the metal or push the prongs over the girdle of the stones. The stone setter will then adjust and file the setting.The work demands a lot of patience, concentration and dexterity to perform these tasks. The stone setter must master the chemical and physical properties of each gemstone. While most setters work as independent craftsmen, some of them work for jewellery companies or watchmakers.

 

Find the program

Objectives

CAP Art & Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie

  • Techniques used in Jewellery
    • Technical Drawing and Design:

      Drawing tools (t-square, set square, compass,…), lines and simple structures (curves, ellipses, perspective) development, projection, elevation, section drawing, gouache techniques, gouache rendering of jewellery.

  • Wax Carving and Modelling:
    • Research and study of volumes, transformation into jewellery pieces, modelling with clay-plasticine, wax carving, prototypes making.

Stone Setting Techniques

  • Stone Setting Techniques :
    • Introduction to jewellery techniques, stone setting technology, grain, prong or bezel setting, gypsy, channel & pave setting etc.
  • Art & Jewellery History
  • Introduction to Gemmology

TEACHING METHODS & RESOURCES

  • Training provided by highly skilled professional stone setters
  • Equipment, tools, castings and stones provided by the school
  • Quarterly progress reports to identify strengths and areas for improvement to complete the final exam

CAREERS

  • Stone Setter in a jewellery company workshop
  • Self-employed Stone Setter

SELECTION CRITERIA

  • Interview with a training consultant
  • Aptitude test

Formations diplômantesCAP ART & TECHNIQUES DE LA BIJOUTERIE JOAILLERIEOption sertissage

Cette formation diplômante permet aux stagiaires d’acquérir en une année scolaire la maîtrise des différentes techniques de sertissage d’un bijou et d’obtenir à l’issue de la formation le Diplôme National du CAP Art et Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie Option Sertissage.
A son établi, le sertisseur monte les pierres précieuses sur les bijoux que lui envoie le joaillier, de manière à ce qu’elles reflètent correctement la lumière. Après avoir choisi le type de sertissage le plus adapté (à grains, à griffes ou serti clos), il détermine l’emplacement exact des pierres en fonction de leur diamètre, de leur forme et de leur couleur. Puis il monte et enchâsse celles-ci. En s’aidant d’un marteleur (sorte de petit marteau-piqueur électrique), d’échoppes et de burins, il ajuste la pierre, rabat le métal sur elle, puis arrondit et lime les rebords du bijou sous une téléloupe. Minutieux, ce travail demande beaucoup de patience, de concentration et de dextérité. Le sertisseur doit maîtriser les propriétés chimiques et physiques de chaque pierre. Si la plupart des sertisseurs travaillent en indépendants dans leur propre atelier, certains sont employés dans des entreprises de bijouterie ou d’horlogerie.

Objectifs

CAP Art & Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie

  • Acquérir des savoir-faire techniques :
    • Dessin technique / Dessin d’art :
      Utilisation des instruments (té, équerre, compas…), tracés et constructions simples, courbes, ellipses, perspective, mise en valeur, projection, élévation, coupe, techniques de gouache, gouaché sur dessins techniques, rendu gouaché de bijoux
  • Volume technique :
    • Étude de volumes à partir de documents, traduction et interprétation des volumes, réalisation de volumes joailleries en matériaux souples (plastiline), réalisation de volumes et maquettes en cire destinés à la fonte

Option sertissage

  • Atelier sertissage :
    • Initiation aux techniques de la bijouterie, technologie du sertissage, les différentes techniques de sertissage, serti à grain, isolé, sur bande, dressé, clos, à griffes…
  • Développer ses connaissances en histoire de l’art et du bijou
  • S’initier à la gemmologie

Méthodes et moyens pédagogiques

  • Formation assurée par une équipe pédagogique, composée de sertisseurs de haut niveau
  • Matériel, outillage, fontes et pierres fournis par le centre de formation
  • Plan de progrès remis chaque trimestre qui permet de connaître les points forts et les axes d’amélioration pour réussir avec succès l’examen final

Les métiers

  • Sertisseur en bijouterie-joaillerie en atelier de fabrication
  • Artisan sertisseur

Critères de sélection

  • Entretien personnalisé avec un conseiller formation
  • Test d’aptitude