Qualifying Training CoursesNATIONAL VOCATIONAL QUALIFICATION Jewellery MakingJewellery making

This one year training will allow participants to master a range of jewellery making techniques and prepare them for the National Diploma of “CAP Art et Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie”, in Jewellery Making.

 

The jeweller creates, transforms and repairs jewellery in precious metal (gold, silver, platinum). Work is carried out in two stages: conceptualization and fabrication. Working closely with the client, the jeweller will produce detailed designs of the jewellery. It will be followed by the fabrication of the  jewellery piece  in metal directly or by wax modelling and casting processes. The jeweller will select the gemstones and prepare the metal for their placement. The jewellery will be then passed on to the stone setter and to the polisher. The jeweller can either work for a manufacturing company workshop or as an independent craftsman.

The jeweller must have a precise, thorough and artistic sensibility in line with the client preference. This enables the jeweller to reproduce and repair antique jewellery as well as fabricate own creations.

 

Find the program

Objectives

CAP Art & Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie

  • Techniques used in Jewellery Making
    • Technical drawing and Design:Drawing tools (t-square, set square, compass,…), lines and simple structures (curves, ellipses, perspective) development, projection, elevation, section drawing, gouache techniques, gouache rendering of jewellery.
  • Metal Working/ Wax Carving and Modelling
    • Professional technology, sawing, filing, fitting, soldering and brazing, metal shaping and forming, stamping.Study of simple volumes, research work, modelling with clay-plasticine, wax carving, prototype making.

Jewellery Making

  • Art and Jewellery History
    • Historical timescale of the art of jewel and jewellery making, the great civilizations of Antiquity of Middle Ages, the Renaissance and Modern Times.
  • Introduction to Gemmology

TEACHING METHODS & RESOURCES

  • Training provided by highly skilled professional jewellers
  • Equipment, tools and materials provided by the school
  • Quarterly progress reports to identify strengths and areas for improvement to  complete the final exam

CAREERS

  • Jeweller in a company workshop
  • After Sales Jewellery Technician
  • Independent Jeweller

  • Jewellery Entrepreneur (Creation or Purchase of a Business)

SELECTION CRITERIA

  • Interview with a training consultant
  • Aptitude test

Formations diplômantesCAP ART & TECHNIQUES DE LA BIJOUTERIE JOAILLERIEOption bijouterie

Cette formation diplômante permet aux stagiaires d’acquérir en une année scolaire la maîtrise des différentes techniques de la fabrication d’un bijou et d’obtenir à l’issue de la formation un Diplôme National du CAP Art et Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie, option Bijouterie-Joaillerie.

 

Le bijoutier crée, transforme ou répare les bijoux en métaux précieux (or, argent, platine). Le travail s’effectue en deux étapes: l’étude et la fabrication. En concertation avec le client, le bijoutier-joaillier conçoit et dessine le bijou. Il passe ensuite à la fabrication proprement dite. Il façonne la matière première pour réaliser la maquette en cire, puis en métal. Il prévoit le futur emplacement des gemmes qu’il aura au préalable sélectionnées, puis procède au perçage et au fraisage du métal. Le bijou est alors prêt pour le travail du sertisseur et du polisseur. Ce métier peut s’exercer dans un atelier ou en tant qu’artisan à son compte. Précis et minutieux, le bijoutier doit avoir une sensibilité artistique, un sens des volumes qui lui permet de reproduire et réparer des bijoux anciens, comme d’imaginer ses propres créations.

Objectifs

CAP  Art & Techniques de la Bijouterie-Joaillerie

  • Acquérir les techniques utilisées en bijouterie
    • Dessin technique / Dessin d’art : utilisation des instruments (té, équerre, compas…), tracés et constructions simples (courbes, ellipses, perspective) mise en valeur, projection, élévation, coupe, techniques de gouache, gouaché sur dessins techniques, rendu gouaché de bijoux
  • Réalisation techniques / Volume technique
    • Technologie professionnelle, sciage, limage, ajustage, soudure et brasure, mise en forme, embouti. Etude de volumes simples, étude de volumes à partir de documents, réalisation de volumes en matériaux souples (plastiline), réalisation de volumes et maquettes en cire

Option bijouterie

  • Développer ses connaissances en histoire de l’art du bijou
    • Les grandes civilisations de l’Antiquité, le Moyen-Age, la Renaissance, les temps modernes
  • S’initier à la gemmologie

Méthodes et moyens pédagogiques

  • Formation assurée par des intervenants professionnels
  • Matériel, outillage et matière d’œuvre fournis par le centre de formation
  • Plan de progrès remis chaque trimestre qui permet de connaître les points forts et les axes d’amélioration pour réussir avec succès l’examen final

Les métiers

  • Bijoutier-Joaillier en atelier de fabrication
  • Technicien en service après-vente
  • Artisan bijoutier/joaillier

  • Technicien service après-vente
  • Créateur/repreneur de bijouterie

Critères de sélection

  • Entretien personnalisé avec un conseiller formation
  • Test d’aptitude